Saturday, May 21, 2011

Wynne Jones, Diana: The Chronicles of Chrestomanci, vol. 1

In this multiple parallel universes of the Twelve Related Worlds, only an enchanter with nine lives is powerful enough to control the rampant misuse of magic—and to hold the title Chrestomanci... The Chants are a family strong in magic, but neither Christopher Chant nor Cat Chant can work even the simplest of spells. Who could have dreamed that both Christopher and Cat were born with nine lives—or that they could lose them so quickly?

f i n a l   t h o u g h t s

Though I'm pretty sure that Howl's Moving Castle will remain my favorite of Diana Wynne Jones' series (may she rest in peace in that great castle in the sky), Chrestomanci is quickly becoming a fast second.

I didn't know until I checked this volume out that it contains the first two books of the series - Charmed Life and The Lives of Christopher Chant. What's cool about it is that we're introduced to the current Chrestomanci, or head magician, in the first book, and then you get to read his back-story in the second volume.

I figured out pretty quickly that any assumptions you might have coming into a Diana Wynne Jones story should be kept silent. It's like running through a maze: you turn every corner, get a little lost, and then think you know the way out, only to be met with another new twist.

Only it's much cooler.

And less scary than getting lost for real.

my verdict. five stars. a must-read, even if you think you're too old for children's lit.


Post a Comment